Lifesaving Society Lifesaving Programs

The Canadian Lifesaving Program includes the Canadian Swim Patrol Program, Bronze Medal awards, National Lifeguard Service® (NLS) awards, and other awards and programs. The Leadership Training Program is for instructors and award examiners.

Program Description Pre-requisite(s)
Canadian Swim Patrol

The Canadian Swim Patrol program provides enriched training for those who are ready to go beyond learn-to-swim. Swim Patrol has three levels: Rookie, Ranger, and Star. These programs continue to develop participants` swim strokes and provide the skill foundation that prepares them for success in the Society’s Bronze Medal awards. Each level of the Canadian Swim Patrol program has three modules: Water Proficiency, First Aid, and Recognition & Rescue. Swim Patrollers work on content appropriate to their ability and interest.

To see the skills taught in the Canadian Swim Patrol program check out the: At-a-glance Canadian Swim Patrol Program Chart

Rookie Patrol Develops individual fitness levels to meet a timed 100m swim and 350m workout. Water proficiency skills include: swims with clothes, ready position, foot-first and head-first surface dives. Demonstrating an ability to conduct a primary assessment and initiating EMS are included as first aid skills. Victim recognition and throwing assists are other key elements of the program. Prerequisite(s): Ability to swim
Ranger Patrol Enhances capability in the water, including stride entry, underwater forward and backward somersaults, lifesaving eggbeater kick and increased fitness levels to meet a 200m timed swim. Rescue skills involve an increased skill level in ABC first aid basics, victim recognition and non-contact rescues. Prerequisite(s): Ability to swim
Star Patrol An excellent preparation for the Bronze Star award, Star Patrol demands good physical conditioning and lifesaving judgment. Participants develop lifesaving and first aid skills; further refine front crawl, back crawl and breaststroke (100m each); and complete 600m workouts and for 300m timed swims. Prerequisite(s): Ability to swim
Bronze Medals
Bronze Star Bronze Star is the pre-Bronze Medallion training standard and excellent preparation for success in Bronze Medallion. In Bronze Star, participants develop problem-solving and decision-making skills as individuals and with partners. They learn CPR and develop Water Smart® confidence and the lifesaving skills needed to be their own personal lifeguard. Includes CPR A and AED. Prerequisite(s): None
Bronze Medallion Bronze Medallion Award teaches an understanding of the lifesaving principles embodied in the four components of water rescue education: judgment, knowledge, skill, and fitness. Rescuers learn tows and carries, and defence and release methods in preparation for challenging rescues of increased risk involving conscious and unconscious victims of various types. Lifesavers develop stroke efficiency and endurance in a timed swim. Includes CPR A and AED. Prerequisite(s): Bronze Star or 13 years old
Bronze Cross Bronze Cross is designed for lifesavers who want the challenge of more advanced training including an introduction to safe supervision in aquatic facilities. Bronze Cross is a prerequisite for all advanced training programs including National Lifeguard and Instructor certification. Includes CPR C and AED. Prerequisite(s): Bronze Medallion
Advanced Lifesaving
Distinction Distinction encourages a maturity of response to demanding aquatic emergency situations and is designed to develop advanced water rescue skill and knowledge, and an understanding of the principles of fitness training. Distinction challenges include implications of assuming responsibility in an emergency, how to deal with two victims at once, and rescue of a non-breathing spinal-injured victim. Inherent in the name of the award, lifesavers must perform every item with distinction. Prerequisite(s): Bronze Cross
Diploma Diploma (Commonwealth Award) The Royal Lifesaving Society Diploma is a historic award which has taken on many forms in its history. Diploma is awarded for exceptional pieces of research in the field of lifesaving and drowning prevention. Diploma offers an opportunity to share research across all member nations. Prerequisite(s): Please consult a branch representative for further information and process.



Content Copyright © RLSS        RLSS Website Policies       Report Problems